More Kylie Jean!

The Kylie Jean books, written by Marci Peschke and illustrated by Tuesday Mourning, are a series of beginning chapter books for ages 7-10. Kylie Jean Carter is a vivacious southern belle whose lifelong dream is to be a beauty queen. Kylie Jean’s mother is always there to remind her that “pretty is as pretty does,” something that Kylie Jean takes to heart every day. All of the Kylie Jean books include a glossary, discussion questions, writing prompts, and a recipe. Fans of Judy Moody, Ivy and Bean, Ramona Quimby, and Clementine will love Kylie Jean.

Recently I got the chance to review the newest book in the Kylie Jean series, Cupcake Queen. I found Kylie Jean to be such an endearing character that I knew I had to read more! I decided to head to my local library to see what other books from this series were available.

The two books that I’ll be sharing today are Blueberry Queen and Drama Queen.

Kylie Jean Blueberry Queen

In Blueberry Queen, Kylie Jean has a shot at a real crown – as the queen of the Blueberry Festival! But crowns don’t come easily, and Kylie Jean soon discovers that running for Blueberry Queen involves a lot of hard work. With help from her family, and loads of her trademark perseverance and spunk, Kylie Jean will prove that she has what it takes to be a queen!

The book has a recipe for blueberry cream cheese pie (yum!) and the highlighted vocabulary words include “application” “pageant” and “recommendation.” Though I didn’t love Blueberry Queen as much as Kylie Jean’s other adventures, fans of this series will still get a lot of enjoyment out of this tale.

Kylie Jean Drama Queen

In Drama Queen, Kylie Jean excitedly starts the second grade. Her excitement falters, however, when she meets Paula Dupree, the new girl in school. Paula is downright mean, and her constant bullying gets Kylie Jean and her friends down. Things get even more dramatic when the students begin preparing for the class play. The play is Alice in Wonderland, and Kylie Jean and Paula both have their sights set on playing the Queen of Hearts.

Drama Queen is a home run. The author tackles the subject of bullying in a very realistic way. Kylie Jean and her friends handle a tough situation with kindness and grace, giving readers in similar situations someone to look up to. The vocabulary words in the book include “character” “memorize” “rehearsal” and “understudy” and the featured recipe is “the queen’s sandwich.”

Click here to read my review of Cupcake Queen.


27 Comments

  1. Pingback: Sofia Martinez! – Youth Literature Reviews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*