Picture Books about Gardening

Getting my kids interested in gardening has always been important to me. I spent years of my childhood helping my father in the garden, tending flowers and harvesting fruits and vegetables. Following up on my list of gardening manuals for children and families, today I’m pleased to share a list of gardening-themed picture books that will inspire even the youngest members of your family to get growing!

Lola Plants a Garden by Anna McQuinn

Lola wants to plant a garden, so she and her mother check out gardening books from the library and buy packets of seeds from the garden store. Lola plants the seeds and lovingly tends to her garden until it begins to grow, then she celebrates with a garden party for her friends! This sweet story is perfect for preschoolers.

Plants Feed Me by Lizzy Rockwell

Beautiful, detailed illustrations and clear, concise text teaches readers about the edible parts of different plants, including leaves, stems, roots, and seeds. Children will love learning about how the plants we grow become the food we eat.

Flower Garden by Eve Bunting

A girl and her father purchase flowers, potting soil, and a window box from the supermarket and take them back to their city apartment to make a special surprise for the girl’s mother. Lovely painted illustrations perfectly compliment this sweet rhyming story.

The Vegetable We Eat by Gail Gibbons

Detailed watercolor illustrations and concise text gives children a cheery yet informative introduction to the eight different types of vegetables and how they make their way from gardens and farms to the supermarket to the table.

A Green, Green Garden by Mercer Mayer

In this charming early reader, Little Critter and his family are planting a garden! They visit the garden store for plants and supplies and then spend weeks watering, tending, and waiting. Along the way, Little Critter learns that having a garden is a lot more work than he anticipated, but it’s worth the effort!

The Curious Garden by Peter Brown

On the top of an abandoned railway, Liam discovers a few struggling plants and decides that they need a gardener. As Liam’s garden begins to grow it develops a mind of its own, spreading throughout every inch of the railway. As his garden flourishes, Liam inspires the other people in his dreary gray, city to plant gardens of their own.

The Garden of Happiness by Erika Tamar

Marisol watches as her neighbors clear out a vacant lot in their New York City neighborhood and plant a community garden. Marisol decides that she wants to plant something too, so she buries a single seed in a crack in the sidewalk and dutifully waters it every day. What comes of her efforts is grander than anyone expected, a beautiful sunflower standing many feet high.

Plant the Tiny Seed by Christie Matheson

Fans of Matheson’s Tap the Magic Tree and Herve Tullet’s Press Here will love this simple, interactive picture book that asks readers to tap, count, clap and more to plant and grow a garden of beautiful flowers. This entertaining book is a great pick for toddlers and preschoolers!

One Bean by Anne Rockwell

In this engaging concept book, a young boy plants a single bean in a cup of soil and dutifully cares for it as it grows bigger and bigger. The charming story gives young children an excellent introduction to the growth cycle of a plant.

Up in the Garden and Down in the Dirt by Kate Messner

In this beautifully illustrated story, a girl and her grandmother lovingly tend their garden throughout four seasons. While the pair are hard at work planting, weeding, watering, and harvesting a garden full of vegetables, full-page spreads illustrate the unseen world just under the surface, where many insects, bugs, and other creatures are hard at work. Back matter includes an author’s note and a glossary of all the creatures seen throughout the story.

One Comment

  1. What a cute idea for a book roundup! I was just thinking of doing one for my blog since I have a couple of fun gardening books for kids.

    On that note, my kids love gardening. We grow one every year and they love harvesting the veggies. The deer and birds got our tomatoes this year though!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*